Skip navigation
Knowledge Base    Domain Transfers    General Transfer Information: Opting out of the 60-day contact change transfer lock

Opting out of the 60-day contact change transfer lock

Last Updated: May 10, 2017

When you change the contact information for a domain, your domain could be put on a 60-day transfer lock, as per ICANN's updated Transfer Policy. If you want to avoid this 60-day lock, you will need to opt out.

 

Opting out while changing domain contacts

When you change your first name, last name, organization, or email address, ICANN requires you to go through a verification process. You'll now choose to opt in or out of the transfer lock during this stage. 

You will see this verification window pop up asking for the verification code while you submit an update to your contacts. Note the opt out button in the window.

If checked, then the domain will NOT be locked.

If unchecked, then the domain WILL be locked for 60 days.

Note: by default, this option will not be checked so please make sure you check it if you do NOT want your domain to be locked.

Default Account Setting

 You can change the default setting for the pop up by doing the following:

  1. Log in to your Name.com account.
  2. Click on and click My Account and then click Account Settings.
  3. On the bottom of the main Account Settings page, there is a checkbox to select if you want it selected by default, as illustrated below:

 

Can't find what you're looking for?

Phones Unavailable


Monday-Friday   8AM to 6PM Mountain Time, Denver

Live Chat is Unavailable

Every day   10AM to 5PM Mountain Time, Denver