Skip navigation
Knowledge Base    Domain Transfers    General Transfer Information: Opting out of the 60-day contact change transfer lock

Opting out of the 60-day contact change transfer lock

Last Updated: Apr 03, 2021

When you change the contact information for a domain, your domain could be put on a 60-day transfer lock, per ICANN's updated Transfer Policy. If you want to avoid this 60-day lock, you will need to opt-out.

 

Opting out while changing domain contacts

ICANN requires you to go through a verification process when you change your first name, last name, organization, or email address. You'll choose to opt-in or out of the transfer lock during this stage.
You will see this verification window pop up asking for the verification code while you submit an update to your contacts. Note the opt-out button in the window.
If checked, then the domain will NOT be locked.
If unchecked, then the domain WILL be locked for 60 days.

Note: by default, this option will not be checked so please make sure you check it if you do NOT want your domain to be locked.

2020-09-01_14-10-59.png

Default Account Setting

 You can change the default setting for the pop up by doing the following:

  1. Log in to your Name.com account.
  2. Click on the ACCOUNT tab, located at the top, select PROFILE and then select ACCOUNT SETTINGS.
  3. On the bottom of the main Account Settings page, there is a checkbox to select if you want it selected by default, as illustrated below:

 


Can't find what you're looking for? Contact our support team now
Open a Support Ticket
Submit a request

Anytime 24/7

Live Chat

Live agent:  8am - 6pm MST every day
Live virtual bot:  6pm - 8am MST every day
Mountain Time, Denver, USA