Skip navigation
Knowledge Base    Hosting    Hosting Migration: Restoring hosting to a previous date

Restoring hosting to a previous date

Last Updated: Sep 14, 2017

Sometimes, changes you make to your hosting have unforeseen consequences. That’s why you should always make backups of your hosting before making major changes. However even if you forget to backup your content regularly, we save backups for you daily that are available for two weeks, so you can restore your hosting to a point before the changes were made. To roll back to a previous date, follow these steps:

  1. Log into your Hosting cPanel.
  2. Click on R1soft Restore Backups under the Files section.
  3. Find the date you want to restore and click the manilla folder icon that says Browse. (Of the four icons to the right of the restore date, Browse will be the first one from the left.)
  4. Check the box next to the folders you want to restore.
  5. Click Restore Selected.
  6. Follow the instructions on screen.

If you use a site builder like WordPress, you will also want to restore the database. To do so:

  1. Go back to the R1soft Restore Backups page.
  2. Find the date you want to restore and click the blue spyglass icon that says Browse Databases. (Of the four icons to the right of the restore date, Browse Databases will be the second one from the left.)
  3. Click the plus sign next to the databases.
  4. Check the box next to the database you want to restore.
  5. Click Restore Selected.

Note: The single best thing you can do before making a big change to your site is to download a backup first. That way you have it if you forget to renew, something happens to your hosting, or you want to restore to a date more than two weeks in the past.  

Can't find what you're looking for?

+1 720.249.2374

Monday-Friday   8AM to 6PM Mountain Time, Denver

Live Chat

Loading

Every day   10AM to 5PM Mountain Time, Denver